So This is Where I’ve Been Lately

Posted: April 13, 2016 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Was it laziness; a change in direction or some dark secretive undercover operation?

You may have noticed a distinct reduction in the number of posts I’ve published over the last few months but I can now report that my time hasn’t been wasted in the snooker halls of Yorkshire or the pool halls of some distant land.

Much of my time has been spent helping authors with their police and crime type questions and I’m please to announce that several of them now have their work published and made available via Amazon.  Before you think this is a simple ploy of mine to acquire passive income as an Amazon affiliate or something like that, it isn’t.  I have nothing to gain (other than pride) by letting you know that there are some very good books hitting the market place at the moment where I have been acknowledged as the police advisor to the respective authors.

Without further a do, I’d like to introduce you to them –

Echoes of Justice (DI Matt Turrell Book 2) by JJ Franklin

When Kathy Wylde sets out to take revenge on the gang of youths who kicked her son, Jack, to death, she finds herself on the wrong side of a vicious and dangerous criminal.

As Detective Inspector Matt Turrell, of the Warwickshire Police, investigates the first gang member’s death, another is brutally murdered. DI Turrell and his team must move fast to protect anyone connected to Jack’s murder – including Kathy.

Unaware that she is now the hunted and in grave danger, Kathy selects Harry as her next victim but soon finds herself growing fond of the young man. With the killer drawing close, will the unlikely pair be able to work together in an attempt to survive? Can DI Turrell stop the killer before he strikes again? Or will he have to sacrifice himself to save them?

Echoes of Justice is the second in the series of novels featuring DI Matt Turrell of the Warwickshire Police. It is a psychological thriller/police procedural set in and around Stratford-upon-Avon.

This is JJ Franklin‘s Second novel in the Matt Turrell series, the first one being Urge to Kill

Scared to Tell: Featuring Detective Annie Macpherson by Barbara Fagan Speake

When Belinda Mancuso is found frozen to death in the grounds of her residential unit, it appears to be a tragic accident. Yet this incident comes on top of anonymous reports already circulating about the unit. Suspicions are raised that systematic abuse may be going on in the Elms but there is a conspiracy of silence. Scottish Detective Annie Macpherson, returning to work in Connecticut, is asked to operate undercover in the unit. As the Elms provides respite care mainly for individuals with intellectual disabilities, Annie’s family circumstances make her the obvious choice. Annie has never worked covertly before and the assignment challenges her, on both a personal and a professional level.

Ellie Harrington is looking for a final project to complete her degree in journalism. When the opportunity arises to do voluntary work in the Oaks, a sister unit to the Elms, she can’t resist. While spending time there conducting interviews, her journalistic instincts tell her something is wrong, very wrong.

For both women, ascertaining what is really going on behind closed doors becomes the highest priority but will Ellie Harrington’s naïve enthusiasm jeopardise the work that Annie is doing? Could both women find themselves in grave danger from a very powerful and ruthless set of conspirators? At the core of it, are the vulnerable residents simply too scared to tell their stories?

This is Barbara’s fourth book in the Detective Annie Macpherson series of books

A Scone to Die for by H.Y. Hanna

When an American tourist is murdered with a scone in Gemma Rose’s quaint Oxfordshire tearoom, she suddenly finds herself apron-deep in a mystery involving long-buried secrets from Oxford’s past.

Armed with her insider knowledge of the University and with the help of four nosy old ladies from the village (not to mention a cheeky little tabby cat named Muesli), Gemma sets out to solve the mystery—all while dealing with her matchmaking mother and the return of her old college love, Devlin O’Connor, now a dashing CID detective.

But with the body count rising and her business going bust, can Gemma find the killer before things turn to custard?
(*Traditional English scone recipe included)

This is the first book in the Oxford Tearoom Mystery series.


Tea with Milk and Murder by H.Y. Hanna

While at an Oxford cocktail party, tearoom owner Gemma Rose overhears a sinister conversation minutes before a University student is fatally poisoned. Could there be a connection? And could her best friend Cassie’s new boyfriend have anything to do with the murder?

Gemma decides to start her own investigation, helped by the nosy ladies from her Oxfordshire village and her old college flame, CID detective Devlin O’Connor. But her mother is causing havoc at Gemma’s quaint English tearoom and her best friend is furious at her snooping… and this mystery is turning out to have more twists than a chocolate pretzel!

Too late, Gemma realises that she’s could be the next item on the killer’s menu. Or will her little tabby cat, Muesli, save the day?
(** Velvet Cheesecake recipe included!)

This is the second book in the Oxford Tearoom Mystery series.


Spare me the Truth by CJ Carver

Dan Forrester, piecing his life back together after the tragic death of his son, is approached in a supermarket by a woman who tells him everything he remembers about his life – and his son – is a lie.

Grace Reavey, stricken by grief, is accosted at her mother’s funeral. The threat is simple: pay the staggering sum her mother allegedly owed, or lose everything.

Lucy Davies has been forced from the Met by her own maverick behaviour. Desperate to prove herself in her new rural post, she’s on the hunt for a killer – but this is no small town criminal.

Plunged into a conspiracy that will test each of them to their limits, these three strangers are brought together in their hunt for the truth, whatever it costs. And as their respective investigations become further and further entwined, it becomes clear that at the centre of this tangled web is a threat more explosive than any of them could have imagined.

CJ Carver has published seven other novels and this is the first in the Dan Forrester series.

To see details of all of the published authors I have helped and with which books, please visit the Supported Books link at the top of this Page

Finally I must mention that I have also been tied up putting together the updated and expanded British Police and Crime Directory for Writers and Researchers 2016, which you can acquire by clicking on the link above or the image below.

BPCD 2016 Cover on Amazon

  1. Bren Littlewood [JJ Franklin] says:

    Thanks, Kevin. Couldn’t have done it without your help. Bren


  2. Justine Budenz says:

    Thanks for the recommendations!


  3. Lindsey Russell says:

    The selection looks great. And good on you, Kevin, for getting so involved.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s