Are you wondering what to do with it?

Posted: May 16, 2015 in Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I was. I’m talking about your manuscript, literary toil, sweat and stress stained document.  I guess a few of you out there are like me, resisting for your own reasons, going down the traditional publishing route. I knew really that it wasn’t the way for me to go. I knew that the demand for my book the British Police and Crime Directory for Writers and Researchers would be insufficient for a traditional publisher to take me on and I knew that a physical copy of the book wasn’t the best medium for the reader to get the most useful experience out of it.

My only real option was to go digital or electronic and publish it as an e-book but wasn’t sure that I could do it myself.  One option was to pay someone to do it on my behalf but that didn’t feel right.  If I was going to self-publish, I may as well figure out how to do it myself.

I decided to give Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing a go. It seemed a bit daunting to me and if the thought of going digital has seemed just as overwhelming to you, my advice is just go for it.

If you feel out of your depth, take heart, there is help out there. Check out Sally Jenkins’ book Kindle Direct Publishing for Absolute Beginners: A guide to publishing Kindle e-books for beginnersKDP for Absolute Beginners

I know there are free books out there that you can download and you could always work your way through the KDP help pages but save yourself the time and energy.

Why choose Sally’s book over the others? I’m not suggesting that you do but consider these facts:

  • Sally is based in the UK so adds the British perspective rather than the US.
  • She has a proven writing track record (see below).
  • She has self-published using Amazon’s KDP so knows how to get the best out of it.
  • Whilst Amazon shows it as a 2014 edition, it has in fact been updated this year to reflect changes both in KDP and publishing rules in the UK.
  • Sally is a frequent supporter of other writers via various forums and produces articles for Writing Magazine

With 5* reviews like these why would you not want to give it a try:

  • This short book takes the wannabe-published author by the hand and gently, very gently, breaks down each stage into understandable and manageable ‘bytes’.  And it is a gentle journey. You will be coaxed by Sally’s calm tone and reassured by her own experiences. Her message is clear, if you can write a book, you can e-publish it!
  •  The field of e-publishing through Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing is full of tall grasses and hedges, but Sally’s straightforward advice offered a tidy path for my first foray into becoming an online author! Easy-to-read, this guide is clearly written by a writer who has experience with the format, and can either be read as a standalone account or dipped into as you’re on the Amazon website.  Yes, Amazon offers guides to help you upload your book, but Kindle Direct Publishing for Absolute Beginners gives you the confidence to stop dreaming and finally become an on-line author.
  • What a smashing book this is!  It gave me all the info I needed about publishing a book on kindle, plus all the extra stuff I never thought of, such as the importance of a book cover, choosing KDP key words how to get your book reviewed.  The author takes the reader through the process, step by step. It’s easy to follow and I’ve learnt such a lot.  It’s inspired me to get cracking with my own kindle book. This book is a really fantastic buy – no prospective self- published author should be without it!

Other books written by Sally Jenkins include:

A Writer on Writing – Advice to Make You a Success 2013 – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00C0GBRS6

Old Friends – 13 Coffee Break Stories 2013 – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00BJIKIBI

One Day for Me – 8 Coffee Break Stories 2014 – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00B4XCYJC

Walk the Cleveland Way: Accommodation, Attractions and Advice  2014 – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00PWGVA1A

The Museum of Fractured Lives Omnibus 2014 – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00L2X8O66

Visit Sally’s Blog at https://sallyjenkins.wordpress.com/

If you want to see my attempt at self publishing via Amazon KDP, click on the cover below:

BPCD Cover

 

 

Comments
  1. Thank you very much for the mention, Kevin! I would just like to add that you don’t need to be at all technically-minded to self-publish on Kindle. If you can use Microsoft Word then you can create a Kindle-ready manuscript. Do not be afraid of having a go!

    Like

  2. qualandar says:

    Thanks for adding to our knowledge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

